The Fifth Season (The Broken Earth) is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to

At the end of the world, a woman must hide her secret power and find her kidnapped daughter in this "intricate and extraordinary" Hugo Award winning novel of power, oppression, and revolution. (The New York Times)
This is the way the world ends...for the last time.
A season of endings has begun.

It starts with the great red rift across the heart of the world's sole continent, spewing ash that blots out the sun.

It starts with death, with a murdered son and a missing daughter.

It starts with betrayal, and long dormant wounds rising up to fester.

This is the Stillness, a land long familiar with catastrophe, where the power of the earth is wielded as a weapon. And where there is no mercy.

For more from N. K. Jemisin, check out:

The Inheritance Trilogy
The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms
The Broken Kingdoms
The Kingdom of Gods

The Inheritance Trilogy (omnibus edition)
Shades in Shadow: An Inheritance Triptych (e-only short fiction)
The Awakened Kingdom (e-only novella)

Dreamblood Duology
The Killing Moon
The Shadowed Sun

The Broken EarthThe Fifth SeasonThe Obelisk Gate

Product Features

  • The Fifth Season The Broken Earth

3 comments on “The Fifth Season (The Broken Earth)”

  1. Dark, Dystopian, and Thought-Provoking The Fifth Season is the first book in The Broken Earth trilogy. It won the Hugo Award for 2016 and the sequel, The Obelisk Gate, just took the 2017 Hugo Award. The third book in the series, The Stone Sky is due out in a few days (August 15, 2017) and seems to have a lot of buzz around the anticipated release.Being such a critically acclaimed darling and widely read already, there's not much my review can add, but I'll throw my few cents in anyhow.For me this was a 4.5...

  2. A unique world and magic system; highly recommended I picked up the Kindle and audio versions if this trilogy to take a break from my recent "hard SF" binge. My expectations were not high -- I've been disappointed by many fantasy authors trying to "break the mold" and differentiate themselves from the Tolkiens, Martins, and Rothfuss of today's big-book-fantasy. I was happily surprised by these books. This is neither a _Harry Potter_ YA nor a grimdark story; it's not an urban fantasy or a classic quest tale. It is a well-written...

  3. A new high point for Jemisin's already-impressive career. I've enjoyed all of Jemisin's books thus far, but I often avoid starting series books until the whole series is complete because I hate being left hanging, waiting for the next installment. But "The Fifth Season" was totally worth the suspense. The world of The Stillness - an ironically-named super-continent that suffers frequent, massive environmental catastrophes thanks to its unstable geology - is a captivating setting for the story's three narrators, each of whom is forced to...

Shop by Category

Get updates by email!
globe linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram